, ,

Burn-out

Burn-out

Bone-deep, the weariness

places lead in my feet.

I sleep deeply,

really,

but bone-deep, the weariness

pulls my mind to a place

of static exhaustion.

And yet more is given:

of work,

of forms,

of responsibilities.

In return I get

“why do you pick on my child?”

when I ask for manners

from my students;

I get

“this is too hard!”

when I give clear

instructions;

I get

“you’re in it for the outcome,

not the income!”

when I ask for pay that reflects

my efforts and knowledge.

And then you ask me

why I am burnt-out,

and where

all the new teachers are.

They have seen my bone-deep

weariness,

and wisely run away.

Leave a comment

Welcome!

My name is Carly. I am a teacher of literature and and all-around geek. I write, draw, design, and explore all the amazing skills out there to learn!

Let’s connect

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started