5-Minute Writer: Invisible for a Day

This one was funny, since it isn’t listed in the book’s table of contents and happens to be about being invisible. Corny, but amusing. It asks us to consider what we’d do if, for one day, we were invisible.

To be invisible for a day would begin with shock and no small amount of panic, because…..well, not exactly typical to wake up without being able to be seen or see yourself.

Just imagine what the brain would do with one sense seemingly gone, but only specifically the body it commands. That would take some time to calm, I think. And imagine talking to your family and explaining you’re there! Hmm…actually, there might be some fun in that one for particularly unlikeable relations, for those who have them.

Now, if the “for a day” part was cleared up, that would be different. Maybe someone left a note, or you talk to someone who was just playing with what they thought was a joke spell book? However I’d find out, that would calm me down enough to consider the possibilities. Do I drive to work and freak people out on the commute? Doing so would be fun, I think, especially with the ability to prank my students should it be a weekday. Imagine thinking your teacher isn’t at school but you bad-mouth her and suddenly find your water bottle has mysteriously tipped over and opened in your backpack?

That would be mean, you’re right. Being who I am, I’d probably go to a bookstore (a big one, not a mom-and-pop) and just read all the books they mark up. Boring, maybe, but undisturbed time comes at a premium when you have cats, responsibilities, and teenagers to manage. The ability to sit and not be bothered for an entire day? For anything? Yes, please.

Leave a comment

Welcome!

My name is Carly. I am a teacher of literature and and all-around geek. I write, draw, design, and explore all the amazing skills out there to learn!

Let’s connect

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started